Jerk Shrimp Tacos w/ Spicy Melon Salsa & Chia Seed Pudding

One of the best things about coming home from college – other than the obvious joy of seeing my friends and family – is that I have much greater access to resources for cooking! I do love cooking but I typically don’t get to do a lot of creative recipes from my apartment in San Diego. Today I spent all day at grocery stores and in the kitchen. The menu for today? Jerk Shrimp Tacos with a Spicy Melon Salsa and for dessert, Chia Seed Pudding.

I’ve always loved shrimp so it was easy picking out this recipe. In celebration of school being out…for SUMMER, I decided to make something fresh and “summery.” I have to say, the salsa really accomplished this in a taste-bud satisfying way.

WP_20150513_12_37_55_ProCantaloupe. Cantaloupe is key! Strange, but yes! You chop up 1 cup of melon, 1/4 of a red onion, 1/3 cup of cilantro, and 1 chopped jalapeno pepper. You squeeze lime juice in it, add some salt… and voila!

WP_20150513_12_53_47_ProTo make the jerk shrimp, you toss raw, peeled and deveined shrimp with some olive oil and lime juice. You then add the jerk part of the jerk shrimp which isssss….

A wonderful blend of ground all spice, ground cinnamon, cayenne, salt, pepper, dried thyme, and minced onion.

WP_20150513_13_23_01_Pro

You let the shrimp sit in the fridge for 30 minutes marinating. Afterwards, you cook the shrimp in a medium skillet with some olive oil and that’s it! Heat up some corn tortillas, put some shrimp in it, add the salsa, and throw some queso fresco on top.

fotor_WP_20150513_15_01_17_Pro(1)

For a more detailed recipe – since I’m waaayyy to lazy to really write it all up for you, go here!

And now, dessert. I had mentioned in my Little Lion Cafe post, that I love love loveeee their Chia Seed Pudding. I love it so much, that I decided to make it myself. I had a bit of a hard time finding all the ingredients so my version is a bit different from the one I was technically following.

WP_20150513_12_27_14_ProWorld’s easiest (healthy) dessert/snack/breakfast item. You quite literally just chuck together chia seeds, coconut milk, coconut yogurt, and honey into a bowl, give it a good mix, and let it sit in the refrigerator for as long as you’re willing to wait. Then you garnish it with some fresh berries. When you take it out of the fridge it looks a little something like this…

fotor_(34)But then you add the coconut whipped cream. You mix in an electric mixer some thick coconut cream (that’s what I used, though others might say full-fat coconut milk), powdered sugar, and some vanilla extract (though some say coconut extract). After you top off the pudding with this and add  your berries, here you go….
fotor_WP_20150513_15_38_24_Pro

Here’s some better instructions for ya!

Leave a Reply

