Lasagna Rolls and Swagger Berries

Lasagna Rolls

I recently just had spring break and I decided to go home. I also decided to not tell anyone I was coming home. I got home super late Friday night and went completely undetected. The following morning, my dad and brother were already out at some theology group meeting. My brother and sister knew I was home and so my sister came in and woke me up. “Mom’s in the kitchen making juice. Get up!”

My mom’s really into juicing and for Christmas we bought her the nicest juicer on the market. There she was being her cute little Mexican self in her white robe and messy hair, choppin’ up some veggies. My sister whipped out her phone and recorded the whole thing. I very coolly and casually walked right up to the kitchen bar. “Ah, hey mom. Could you make me one too?”

She freezes. Screams her high pitched scream, drops the veggies in her hand… “Alicia!” she exclaims. Then tears, sobs, and laughter squander her next exclamations into a toned down, “Aliciaaaa…. what are you doing here? Oh my gosh!” etc. etc. Priceless. My dad had a great reaction too but not quite like my mom. Anyways! When I go home, I really like cooking. My mom was walking around in a funk one of the days I was home so I decided to go to the grocery store and take care of dinner and dessert. Hmmmm, what to make? I already knew. I had planned to make Lasagna Rolls and Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries for my roommates back in SD but I decided to make it for my momma instead.

fotor_(21) fotor_(22)

What you need:

12 uncooked lasagna sheets 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil 1/2 lb ground turkey/ ground beef 1/2 an onion 3-4 cloves of garlic 2 cups of crushed tomatoes or tomato puree 2 Tbsp dried Italian seasoning (mix herbs) 1 tsp dried red pepper flakes (optional for heat) Salt and ground black pepper, to taste 1 (15 oz) container Ricotta Cheese 1 large egg 2 handfuls of fresh flat leaf parsley 1 cup grated Mozzarella Cheese, divided 1 cup freshly grated Parmesan Cheese 1 tsp salt 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

To learn how to put it all together for yourself, click here!

Swagger Berries

Now, I hadn’t made that before but I have made the dessert before. My ex-boyfriend’s grandmother discovered the recipe originally and it didn’t have a name. Since I’m often referred to as ‘swag’, we decided to call them swagger berries! Silly. Not even catchy. I know. I added some Girl Scout Lemonade Cookies mostly for effect, but also because they’re bomb!

For the strawberries, all you need is:

1 Package Strawberries
1 Large Packet extra creamy whipped cream
1 packet cream cheese (softened)
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract.
1 packet cheesecake flavored pudding
Zip Lock freezer bag

And all you have to do is:

Wash strawberries, cut an X in the top of the strawberries, allow to dry, chill in fridge for 2-3 minutes. Fold together whipped cream and budding till blended. Slowly add cream cheese and vanilla extract. Place into freezer bag (zip locked) and chill for 30-35 minutes.

I’ve followed other recipes where you hollow out the tops and fill it from the top rather than the tip! Up to you!

Leave a Reply

